read all about it!


Season Four of Lakeshore Rush features chamber music for piano, flute, clarinet, and cello. We return this year with more concerts at the Merit School of Music, Pianoforte Studios, and the Fine Arts Building in Chicago, Illinois. We are thrilled to be collaborating with the Chicago Composers’ Consortium as we read and prepare new pieces for Pierrot ensemble as part of their 2017 call for scores competition.

Lakeshore Rush brings together works by living composers and classical standards in exciting live performance. Co-founded by clarinetist Laura McLaughlin and flutist Erin Murphy in 2014, Lakeshore Rush takes its name from a previously endangered lakeshore grass that recently revitalized Lake Michigan’s shores in Chicago.

Lakeshore Rush has presented concerts for the Lawrence Conservatory, the University of Illinois at Chicago, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison. We focused on works for full sextet in our first season, performing Difficult Bamboo by Mason Bates and Mark Mellits’ Platter of Discontent at Symphony Center as part of MeritFest 2015. Lakeshore Rush has since premiered new works by Laura Schwendinger, Joshua Hintze, Jonathan Hannau, Griffin Candey, and Pierre Jalbert. 

Lakeshore Rush is:

             Erin Kendall Murphy, flute

                               Laura McLaughlin, clarinet  

                                                           Henry Zheng, violin        

Christopher Ferrer, cello

                                                                                           and Elena Doubovitskaya, piano


Come join us!!!